Welcome to the local  Horowhenua Hockey Association website. Please read our home page or click on the headings at the top of this page, using the drop down columns for the local information you require.

Under 15 development programme

Teri Kitson is running an Under 15 development/training programme for both Un 15 boys and girls. The dates for the first 2 weeks are below, with further times to be determined once Teri returns from Un 21 tournament in Dunedin.

Week 1-Thursday 21 April 3.30-5pm

Week 2-Thursday 28 April 3.30-5pm

Open to all Horowhenua Un 15 players…….Hope to see you all there, let your friends know too!


 Thank you for attending this meeting and advising you are keen to play U15 rep hockey for Horowhenua this season.

As competition hockey has not yet commenced it is difficult to assume that we will have enough/not enough players for teams this season.  We have had numerous discussions with HNZ, Kathy Norman (Central Districts Community Manager) and Nicolette van Ziejl (Regional Development Manager based with Hockey Manawatu) in regard to eligibility of players for Association Rep hockey.

It has been clarified by these people that the trials to be held in Manawatu over the next two weekends are to select a development squad with trainings held fortnightly to improve player skills.  It has been made clear that it is not imperative for players to attend these trials as there will be a chance for selection into these teams at a later date.  Obviously the majority of rep players will be selected from this squad but once again as hockey is not underway as yet there will be other players that are looked at as the season progresses.  PLEASE CHECK THE HOCKEY MANAWATU WEBSITE AND READ CAREFULLY – IT NOTES THAT PLAYERS UNABLE TO ATTEND THESE TRIALS CAN STILL APPLY TO TRIAL LATER IN THE SEASON.  The response from Hockey NZ is as follows..

” If players are affiliated to Horowhenua, either through a Levin school team or a Levin club team, irrespective of where those teams play, the players are available for Horowhenua rep teams in the first instance.
If Horowhenua say they are having U15 Boys & Girls teams, then the above players trial for Horowhenua.
If Horowhenua say they can’t field U15 Boys & Girls teams – both Horowhenua and Manawatu Associations need to write a letter of dispensation to HNZ, attention Aidan O’Connor, and ask for dispensation for Horowhenua players to be allowed to trial and be selected for Manawatu U15 sides.
In this instance if Manawatu already has adequate player numbers to field 1 to 1.5 teams, then Horowhenua players would be given dispensation to fill the Manawatu Championship team (B team).
For Levin Secondary School players that are affiliated to Horowhenua but play club hockey as well -:
If they play for a Levin club, they are affiliated to Horowhenua and play reps for Horowhenua.
If they play for a Manawatu club, they are affiliated to Manawatu and play reps for Manawatu.
For Secondary School players who go to school in Palmerston, their schools are affiliated to Manawatu, and thus players are available to trial for Manawatu. Should these players also play Club for a Horowhenua Club, then they are affiliated to Horowhenua and via the Club trumps school rule, are available for Horowhenua to trial.
 If Manawatu doesn’t select all its affiliated players then resident Levin players (at school in Palmerston North, but from Horowhenua) can return to trial in  Horowhenua. Manawatu would be asked to provide a letter of release for these players.”

We appreciate that keen Horowhenua rep players do not want to miss out so we are doing our utmost to make sure a decision is made on teams as soon as practicable, but once again until we have team lists from Colleges etc this is not feasible.

So at this stage unless you are playing in a Club team in Manawatu, you are ineligible to attend Manawatu’s development trials over the next two weekends.

Horowhenua Hockey Association

Office Hours

Halliwell Turf Operations Manager: Lyn Maclean: New Office hours 11.30am – 3.00pm               Monday to Thursday. Closed Friday’s, weekends & public holiday’s. Office Phone: 06 3675353

HHA. Hockey Facilitator: Fiona Cook: Office hours: from 3.00pm during weekday junior hockey fixtures or Ph/Text: 027 5547744



Hockey Turf: Requests to book the turf must be made through the turf office in advance. Please check the turf calender(above) for available dates/times prior to requesting use of the turf. This is kept as up to date as possible. Pre – booked sessions have priority over casual users of the turf.

Upstairs Pavilion: Use of the upstairs pavilion for Representative teams are also to be made through the turf office in advance. NB: The HSTT hires out  upstairs/kitchen  and has a number of bookings in place by non- hockey groups, so please check with the office first.



Our Junior winter hockey season will commence as follows:

Years 1-4,  from 9.00am on Saturdays commencing 14th May

Years 5&6, from 3.30pm on Mondays commencing 9th May

Years 7&8, from 3.30pm on Tuesdays commencing 10th May

Information has been sent to all schools, so please make sure you advise your hockey/sports co-ordinator if you wish to play this season.